Show Summary Details
Page of

(p. 23) Development of the IDAS and IDAS-II 

(p. 23) Development of the IDAS and IDAS-II
(p. 23) Development of the IDAS and IDAS-II

David Watson

and Michael W. O’Hara

Page of

date: 23 February 2020

This chapter describes the creation of an instrument providing comprehensive assessment of emotional disorder symptoms. The original Inventory of Depression and Anxiety Symptoms (IDAS) was created to address limitations associated with older measures of these disorders. The original IDAS contained symptom scales assessing depression (General Depression, Dysphoria, Suicidality, Lassitude, Insomnia, Appetite Loss, Appetite Gain), anxiety (Panic, Social Anxiety, Traumatic Intrusions), anger (Ill Temper), and positive mood (Well-Being). The Expanded Form of the IDAS (IDAS-II) subsequently was created to provide additional coverage of anxiety (Claustrophobia, Traumatic Avoidance), obsessive-compulsive (Checking, Ordering, Cleaning), and bipolar (Mania, Euphoria) symptoms. The IDAS-II scales are internally consistent and stable over short time intervals. Most scales show substantial elevations in clinical samples. Structural analyses of the IDAS-II scales reveal three underlying factors: distress, obsessions/fear, and positive mood. Finally, nationally representative norms are presented for the IDAS-II scales.

Access to the complete content on Oxford Clinical Psychology requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us.